Innocence can be deceiving! Love and passion developed into something disturbing in the adapted film Lady Macbeth! (spoiler alert)

This is a review of the newly released film “Lady Macbeth”, adapted from Nikolai Leskov’s novel “Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk”.

My Thoughts

I saw the film cover to Lady Macbeth and I read all the reviews. It made me wonder. From first impressions, Katherine (played by Florence Pugh) was innocent. I saw the ridicule she went through and the thought of marrying a man twice her age who she did not love was very disturbing. She was treated like an added extra that the family did not want or need, if anything, she was an inconvenience. I saw very little respect shown towards her by the family or their staff.

The language that Katherine’s husband used was vulgar, disrespectful and is is sad to think that women in the 19th century were treated like that and sold with land. Sentences like “You have gotten fat and foul smelling” and “Take your night dress off. Face the wall” still invade my thoughts.

As the film developed I got the sense that she wanted more freedom and passion. Once a young sweet girl, Katherine became more mature and dominating. She had sexual desires that had to be met and she resisted commands from her husband and his family.  She had an enormous sense of power and did as she pleased, without admitting her mistakes, instead framing others.

At first I thought she wanted to be with her love Sebastian, who she met when her husband was away. It seemed clear towards the end that she had little love for him (or anyone) and did it all for her personal gain.

I must say that the acting by Florence Pugh was effortless. She flowed so well as Katherine changed from quiet and innocent to disturbing and unpredictable. I was unable to anticipate any of her actions. What she did and how she acted was unsettling and I was perplexed all the way through.

I left the film thinking did this poor treatment drive her to be this cruel or was it skin deep?

Last Note

I was drawn in by the plot and the demeanor of the character. Lady Macbeth was enticing, impossible to ignore and captivating to the end.

Star Rating

4 star rating Oh My Blog

It may not be to everyones taste, but with my interest in multiple genres, I liked it. Mind you, I think seeing it once would be sufficient as none of the shocks in the film will have the same effect.

Comment Corner

Let me know what you think of the film and the review. Comments are welcome 🙂

Until another review…

Bye guys 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

