The Other Side of Hope showed humanity but didn’t hold my interest! (Spoiler Alert)

When a film focuses on war, death and refugees, it really makes us hurt emotionally. Stories of war, depicted beautifully by Abi Kaurismaki, made me appreciate what I have – a home, family, food and security.

My Thoughts

The Other Side of Hope had a simple plot and followed a restaurant owner who helped a Syrian refugee who fled war and was desperately trying to find his sister.

Themes in the film included war, in which we learnt of horrible family losses. For Khaled, this consisted of his mother, father, brother and friends family.  We were introduced to Khaled who fled war for a better life and payed to be smuggled over borders. There were some moments where we saw true discrimination and violence against immigrants and I found this very uncomfortable. This was however bypassed by the humanity of local Finnish people who supported Khaled. I found the way Khaled was welcomed by the restaurant owner and the team very encouraging and I hope that those who watch this film understand refugees more and the risks they take to get to safety.

In contrast, I would say that the plot was slow and it took a while for me to get into it. I found myself getting bored and only really being captivated in the last 30 minutes. This film was not really meant to be fast paced though, rather was aimed to be close to the heart and teach us about morals. The film has definitely given me some food for thought!

Last Note

Overall I found the film very heart warming. The only thing I would say is that it was slow to develop and not as funny as I expected.

Star Rating

I would give this film 3 stars as it was not fully to my taste and quite slow in the plot.

3 stae rating Oh My Blog

 

Leave a Reply

