S1 E2: Broken introduced new cracks to the plot as Michael Kerrigan’s past was revealed! (Spoiler Alert)

In this second episode, we saw more emphasis on Priest Micheal Kerrigan (played by Sean Bean), than the young struggling mother, Christina Fitzsimmons (played by Anna Friel).

My Thoughts

As a priest, he has not had the most innocent past. During a woman’s confession, he revealed that he abused women and used for sex. It is not everyday that you find out that your priest had those shocking intentions. As he explained, he was very young and took advantage of them because he could.

Priest Micheal Kerrigan did not have the best time in this episode. Alongside his confession to the woman, he unintentionally contributed to the death of a young man. When he could have gone and helped him, he decided to ignore the phone call, only to find out the horrible news in the sermon the next morning.

He found the guilt extremely overwhelming, however he had to make a choice: Should he tell the boys mother of his guilt or be the priest that she needs for her grief and support her? I also tried to imagine what I would do in that situation – if I would have the guts to tell her that he may still be alive if I picked up the phone. I don’t think I would be able to.

Final Note

The episode was gripping but not in a thriller way. It made me think about my morals and regrets. It showed that guilt could be very overpowering, and that even so, a man can turn his life around and get forgiveness from God.

I could not look away from start to finish and I am eager to see what the next episode has holds. With so much in the priests past, I have no doubt that there are many more shocks and revelations to come.

Star Review

I would give the review 4 stars as it was morally gripping from start to finish! The series is different to other BBC dramas and I like it!

4-star-rating-oh-my-blog

Have your say

What did you think of the review? Did you like it or want to get involved? Feel free to comment on this post on Facebook or Twitter!

Until the next review…

Bye guys 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

