The Mummy had me wrapped in its grasp from the off set! (Spoiler alert)

So I went to see the newly released “The Mummy” film and I found it action packed. The film kept me on tenterhooks, as tense music was present all the way through.

My Thoughts

Tom Cruise, who played Nick Morton, an artifact stealer man who stumbled upon a tomb, containing a dark force that was hidden in the hope that it would never be discovered.  He was joined by a young archaeologist Jenny Halsey (played by Annabelle Wallis) who was eager to discover more. As the discovery emerged, it became clear that there was something more to it, including the cover up of history during in 1127bc. Nick and Jenny both got on very well and they were a great team and worked well together, despite her hidden agenda.

Our evil counterpart, Princess Ahmanet had a very dominating and scary look to her. She was a perfect villain who made the film exciting, as she was always lurking around in corners, jumping out or appearing at any opportunity. She definitely kept me on my toes and I kept jumping in shock, even when I expected it.

The graphics in the movie were very much CGI, however they did look genuine, especially the Egyptian burial sites and prison that held Princess Ahmanet. A scene that was less convincing was the moment where the plane crashed. Nick and Jenny were rolling around in the plane and attempting to hold on to anything they could. It was like they were falling forever and by the time it had crashed, it had felt like hours.

The ending was odd and not what I expected for a Tom Cruise film. He was a hero who took the evil to save Jenny and innocent lives, rather than killing the evil itself. I found this admirable, but very contrasting to his fighting spirit in the film.

Last Note

The Mummy was exciting, tense and worth the watch! The CGI made the film even more exciting too because it made you feel like you were there..

Star Rating

I would give the film 4 stars as it was so well made and exciting from the off set.

4-star-rating-oh-my-blog

Have your say

Do you want your say?

You can comment or like this article. You can even follow or like Oh My Blog on Facebook and Twitter!

 

Leave a Reply

